It was chilly again tonight. At least, Roderick thought he felt a chill. Looking at it hand, the faint shake in it was a human reaction to the cold to generate warmth. But did he actually feel the cold? Or was it another one of the echos from when he was alive. "This new life, if we could call it that, is one that takes a long while to adjust to. But it's not like we aren't used to it, right Ricky?" The old soldier looks to his friend for a while, quiet as always. He was a good listener like that.

"Ya. We had to adjust from the time as children to our lives as men when we went to boot camp. Then we became warriors when we were selected to head to Ranger Training. I wonder though, were you the lucky one? I feel in love with being a soldier, I stuck it out for as long as they would let me. You came in when I was on the tail end of that, fresh out of training and sent to the sands of Afghanistan. But damn if you weren't the best gernader I ever saw. All I had to do was point to a hole and you would make it in one."

Roderick laughed for a moment before letting out a sigh, "But you weren't meant for the long haul like I was. You had places to go, using the Army as a spring board for college and then got a fancy mark on your resume to get you into a big name job. I come back after being.. 'Honorably Discharged', they called it. And you got yourself a fancy house up on the hill, a loving wife and a few kids of your own. You got the dream. Me? I couldn't hold a proper civi job. I don't have PTSD like the guys at the Vet Hospital, but I wasn't one for the peaceful life. And I sure as hell wasn't going to take a handout, no offense to you and yours. So, I went out to find my battles on the street and worked just long enough to get me by when there was no one's ass to kick."